My Account

BlogMembers NewsNews

YAS members and alumni welcomed into the RSE

By 30th March 2021 No Comments

Our senior academy, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, has today announced 87 newly elected Fellows. These new Fellows will join the RSE’s current roll of around 1,600 leading thinkers and practitioners from Scotland and beyond, whose work has a significant impact on our nation. We are delighted that two YAS members are among them:

  • Dr Maria Dornelas – Reader, School of Biology, University of St Andrew, whose research focuses on quantifying biodiversity in tropical systems and understanding the processes that shape it.
  • Professor Lesley McMillan – Professor of Criminology and Sociology, Glasgow Caledonian University, who researches gendered and sexual violence and the statutory and non-statutory response to it.

Maria Dornelas

Lesley McMillan

We are also delighted that seven YAS alumni are also being welcomed into the RSE as Fellows.  They are:

  • Professor Tara Brendle, Professor and Head of Mathematics, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Heather Ferguson, Professor of Medical Entomology and Disease Ecology, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Faye Hammill, Professor of English Literature, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Paul Hoskisson, Royal Academy of Engineering Research Chair in Engineering Biology and Professor of Molecular Microbiology, University of Strathclyde
  • Dr Olga Kozlova, Director of Innovation and Industry Engagement, University of Strathclyde
  • Professor Liz Patton, Professor, Personal Chair of Chemical Genetics, MRC Programme Leader, MRC Human Genetics Unit
  • Professor Devi Sridhar, Chair in Global Public Health and Director, Global Health Governance Programme, University of Edinburgh

These new Fellows join 21 other YAS members and alumni who have previously been welcomed into the RSE. While YAS members do not automatically become Fellows, the increasing number of YAS members and alumni in the RSE Fellowship is testament to the excellence, drive, and creativity of our members. To be appointed RSE Fellows, these individuals have undergone rigorous assessment  of their achievements, professional standing and the contribution they and their work make to wider society.

Professor Dame Anne Glover, President of The RSE said: “As Scotland’s national academy we recognise excellence across a diverse range of expertise and experience, and its effect on Scottish society. This impact is particularly clear this year in the latest cohort of new Fellows which includes scientists who are pioneering the way we approach the coronavirus; those from the arts who have provided the rich cultural experience we have all been missing, and some who have demonstrated strong leadership in guiding their organisations and communities through this extraordinary time.

“Through uniting these great minds from different walks of life, we can discover creative solutions to some of the most complex issues that Scotland faces. A warm welcome is extended to all of our new Fellows.”

More information on the all new Fellows, including the YAS members being inducted this year can be found on the RSE website.