1 minute reading time (212 words)

YAS member Siobhan O’Connor receives an Impact Award from the RCN Foundation


Siobhán O’Connor, a YAS member and Lecturer at Edinburgh Napier University, received an Impact Award from the Royal College of Nursing (RCN) Foundation recently for her research into the history of nursing informatics. She spent the last 12 months exploring the life and work of Derek Hoy, a Scottish nurse who pioneered technology in the NHS.

Siobhán was presented with the Impact Award at a special awards ceremony at Belfast Waterfront on Saturday 12th May 2018 during the RCN Congress. The national awards celebrate the impact and achievements of nurses across the United Kingdom. A surprise was in store for Siobhán when Sir Chris Hoy, a decorated Olympic cyclist and nephew of Derek Hoy, thanked her personally for her innovative historical research highlighting the contribution that his uncle made to healthcare. 

On receiving her award, Siobhán said: “We have so many amazing nurses who pioneer technology in the health service that it is wonderful their contribution is recognised. My research is charting the key nursing scientists such as Derek Hoy who work in this area and building up a profile of how they have influenced healthcare in the UK and globally. I would like to thank the RCN Foundation and Derek’s family for supporting this research and acknowledging its importance in nursing”.

YAS members launch “Our Future Scotland” film at S...
Young Academy member questions MPs at Voices of th...

Related Posts



Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Our Members

Patrick is a Lecturer in space systems engineering at the University of Glasgow. He studied at The Queen’s University of Belfast and then at Cranfield University before moving here, in 2008, to work on planetary drilling and sampling tools in support of the future exploration of Mars.

Latest News

10 July 2018
 YAS Welcomes 53 New Members New cohort of members includes outstanding members of Scotlan...