My Account


YAS member announces the European Health Award 2016

By 3rd October 2016 No Comments


Siobhán O’Connor, a new member to the RSE Young Academy of Scotland, was one of only three young academics hand picked from across Europe to help judge and announce the European Health Award 2016. This prestigious award is presented at the European Health Forum Gastein conference in Austria each year. Siobhán, a lecturer in nursing at Edinburgh Napier University, received a Young Forum Gastein scholarship to attend this high level EU health policy conference to represent Scotland. The scholarship is co-funded by the European Commission and WHO Europe, to enable leading young health professionals to attend and participate in the conference.

Many European projects with a health focus are submitted for the European Health Award and Siobhán joined a panel of prestigious judges including Dr Terje Peetso, Health and Wellbeing Unit of DG CONNECT in the European Commission, Professor Martin McKee from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and Albert van der Zeijden, Board Member of the International Forum Gastein, among others to shortlist projects and make the final selection.

Siobhán along with a colleague Marie Delnord, from Paris Descartes University, had the privilege to announce the 2016 European Health Award winner on 28th September, which was the European Antibiotics Awareness Day. This initiative, coordinated by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), provides a platform to support national campaigns on the pru dent use of antibiotics. Dr Andrea Ammon, Director of the ECDC, and Giovanni Mancarella, the project manager, accepted the award on behalf of their local and national teams. They thanked the dedication and commitment of all who promote this important annual public health initiative, which in Scotland is the Scottish Antimicrobial Prescribing Group within NHS Scotland.