2 minutes reading time (324 words)

Four YAS Members named 2016 RSE Prizewinners

The Royal Society of Edinburgh has revealed it Prizewinners for 2016; we are pleased to announce that four of the individuals recognised for their significant contributions to academia are members of the RSE Young Academy of Scotland.

  • Dr Helen Bridle MYAS, Assistant Professor, School of Engineering & Physical Sciences, Heriot-Watt University, is awarded the RSE Innovator’s Public Engagement Prize for her innovative and original contributions to public engagement as an ambassador for (young women) engineers and engineering. Her work, delivering the“ Ingenious!” outreach scheme to schools and her publication in “Lab on a Chip” has led to increased public engagement activities across schools and science festivals.
  • Dr Asier Unciti-Broceta MYAS, Reader in Medicinal Chemistry, Cancer Research UK Edinburgh Centre, MRC Institute of Genetics & Molecular Medicine, University of Edinburgh, is awarded the RSE/Patrick Neill Medal, an early career prize, for his outstanding research work in biomedical technologies and innovative therapeutics through multi-disciplinary collaboration.
  • Dr Malcolm Macdonald MYAS, Reader of Space Technology, Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, University of Strathclyde, receives the RSE/Makdougall Brisbane Medal, an early career prize, for his outstanding research in the development and application of space mission systems to challenge conventional ideas and advance new concepts in the exploration and exploitation of space.
  • Dr Nasar Meer MYAS, Reader in Comparative Social Policy and Citizenship, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, University of Strathclyde, receives the RSE/Thomas Reid Medal, an early career prize, for his ground-breaking research work on Muslim identities, race equality and nationalism. In addition to this, he has an outstanding record in media and public engagement. Dr Meer is also a current RSE Personal Research Fellow.

Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, President of the RSE, commented, “I offer my warmest congratulations to this year's talented Prizewinners. They, along with previous recipients, help to advance 'learning and useful knowledge', which is also part of the RSE's remit.”

To read the full list of winners, please visit the RSE website.

Congratulations to YAS Scientists Involved in Grav...
Winners announced in national Rewrite the Headline...

Related Posts



Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Our Members

Davide is from Emilia Romagna, a region in Northern Italy where he studied Agricultural Sciences. He then obtained a PhD degree in Crop Sciences at the University of Milan (2008) before leaving Italy for Germany, to take a post-doctoral position at the Max Planck Institute of Cologne.

Latest News

10 July 2018
 YAS Welcomes 53 New Members New cohort of members includes outstanding members of Scotlan...