Sharon Ashbrook

Last name

Sharon Ashbrook is currently a Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of St Andrews. She is involved in all aspects of higher education, from scientific research to teaching and lecturing.

She graduated in Chemistry from Hertford College, Oxford, in 1997, and subsequently stayed in Oxford to study for her DPhil. After postdoctoral research at the University of Exeter, she was awarded a Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship at the University of Cambridge, before moving to St Andrews in 2005. She has won the Harrison Prize (2004) and the Marlow Award (2011) from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) and the Makdougall Brisbane Medal (2012)  from the RSE, for her work on understanding structure and disorder in the solid state, using NMR spectroscopy and DFT calculations, and has published over 110 papers in this area.

She is Vice-Chair of the Tayside Local Section of the RSC and is heavily involved in outreach with local schools, through both the RSC and the RSE. As the Admissions Officer for Chemistry in St Andrews she also has a particular interest both in School Education and the transition from school to university. 

Working Group: Excellence in Education


Areas of Interest
Chemistry, Education
University of St Andrews
Key words
physical chemistry

Our Members

Paul Brennan is a Clinical Lecturer in Neurosurgery based in Edinburgh at the Western General Hospital and the University of Edinburgh. He combines his clinical practice with basic science and clinical research.

Latest News

07 June 2018
YAS member Anne Schwan is leading a multi-disciplinary series of performances at venues in Edin...